Tuesday, April 23Multi-awarded Filipina blogger, ocial media specialist, publicist and content creator

Mindanaoans who will run for national positions come May 2010

Did you know that several Mindanaoans will gun for national political positions come May 2010? If you’re the type of person who wants to support fellow children of Mindanao in the next presidential elections, then you may want to check out the list below.

Among the vice presidentiables, two are Mindanaoans. Bangon Pilipinas’ vice presidential candidate Perfecto Yasay, Jr. is from Davao City. Jay Sonza, the vice presidential candidate of the Kilusang Bagong Lipunan party, is also from Davao. All of Sonza’s children are fellow Ateneo de Davao University alumni.

As for the senatorial candidates, on the other hand, Mindanaoan has identified 10.

First is Nacionalista Party’s bet lawyer Adel A. Tamano of Lanao del Sur. He’s the first Filipino Muslim scholar graduate of Harvard Law School, the first Filipino Muslim commencement speaker of Harvard University and the President of Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila. Atty. Adel Tamano is the son of the late Senator Mamintal Tamano. He was one of our valued speakers during the recently concluded Mindanao Bloggers Summit 3.

Second is Gwendolyn Pimentel-Gana, the daughter of Senator Aquilino Pimentel and sister of former senatorial candidate Atty. Koko Pimentel. She’s running under the PDP-Laban party and serves as her father’s chief of staff. Miss Gana will apparently use her Pimentel maiden name during the campaign.

Third is incumbent Agusan del Sur congressman Rodolfo “Ompong” Plaza. Rep. Plaza was also one of our valued speakers during the MBS 3. Recognized as the author of the landmark LPG Act, congressman Plaza comes from a large political clan in the Agusan area.

Fourth Mindanaoan senatoriable is Silvestre Bello III of Davao City. My fellow Dabawenyo will run under the LAKAS CMD KAMPI party. He was a former Justice secretary.

Two more Mindanawan senatoriables are both from the Province of Bukidnon and both under the Liberal Party. Incumbent Bukidnon 2nd District Congressman Teofisto “TG” Guingona III and former Bukidnon 1st District Rep. Neric Acosta. Acosta sent us a video greeting for the MBS 3, by the way. If you want to view it, check this.

The next Mindanaoan senatoriables are all from Lanao del Sur. Shariff Ibrahim Albani will run under the Kilusang Bagong Lipunan party, Yasmin-Busran Lao under the Liberal Party and Zafrullah Alonto under the Bangon Pilipinas banner.

The last Mindanawan senatorial candidate is newspaper columnist Manuel Valdehuesa, Jr. A resident of Cagayan de Oro City, he will run under the Ang Kapatiran banner.

By the way, I must mention that Nicanor Perlas, who wants to run for president, was the Valedictorian of the Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan College of Agriculture Batch 1972. So even if he wasn’t born in Mindanao, he has spent (and still is spending) a lot of time here. Perlas is largely known as one of the pioneers of organic farming here in the Philippines.

Feel free to share this list with fellow Mindanaoans. This may help them decide come May 2010 🙂

Please don’t hesitate to choose the various “SHARE” options below. Thanks!

Related Images:



  • von

    I was indeed happy to find this webpage!

    thanks for the information that you had shared.>

    it adds to my knowledge..


    But the backgrounds of the senatorial candidates coming from mindanao is what i shud find now^^

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!